Sharing Is Now On Your Terms

Meeco has created something special. It’s a gift from us to you, a new way to control and share your personal information with the organisations and people you trust.

Introducing ‘Permissions – The People’s Release’.

Every moment we are online we share our personal information. Every time we browse, download an app, shop online, make inquiries or sign up for things, we give a bit of ourselves away.

But why is it that when we engage with these services and give up our data, that the terms and conditions are one way and not mutual?  Why are these terms always non negotiable? Don’t we also have rights over our personal information and how it is used?

At Meeco, we are very excited to be tipping this model on its head and shifting some of that power back to you.

Can you imagine the future? We can. It’s a place where sharing is a mutual agreement, a contract between you and the rest of the world. These transactions aren’t one-sided, they are collaborative and creative. Well, we are delighted to announce that the future has just arrived. Sharing on your terms is now a reality!

In our latest update it’s now possible for you to set your own Terms and Conditions to the information shared with your Meeco contacts. You can now also request information from your contacts, share directly from a Tile making it even easier, and share multiple Tiles with multiple Contacts at the same time.

All you need to do is set the parameters by which you want to share, such as:

  • The length of time you would like the information to be shared, or
  • The use-by-date for when your data will expire
  • Whether you permit the data to be shared with other parties or indicate that is not for sale
  • Custom terms which are a request between you and the recipient

Your Permissions can be edited or updated at any time. It’s super simple and easy to do. Watch our short video below to see how it works:

 

So now in Meeco, you have the power to decide on permissions, set duration and your rules of engagement! We hope this will give you some ease and peace of mind in knowing that your data can be shared on your terms.

Take care, take control, download Meeco to experience sharing on your terms.

Now YOUR T&Cs will apply.

Aviva

Comments 5

  1. John

    OK – but how are the self created Ts&Cs enforced? Does the data time out in some way? Does the recipient have to agree to them before they can access the data. How does it work?

    1. Katryna Dow

      Hi John,
      Thanks for the questions, yes both are correct.

      The data can be shared (or available) for a pre-determined period; this can be minutes, hours or a specific date. Alternatively you can grant access ongoing or until revoked.

      If you change or update the data it will automatically be updated for the recipient, it will also include a date stamp to say when it was last edited. If you delete the shared data it will be deleted from their account. Much like the way Snap Chat works.

      Regarding the enforceability, by using Meeco the other party agrees to the T&Cs which include supporting your legal rights as prescribed in our terms. Additionally We have the option for you to add your own personal requests. These are considered peer or reputation terms, that is if you have been explicit with the other party and they ignore your reasonable request you have transparency regarding the level of trust associated with sharing with that person or organisation.

      We believe this will be the future of exchanging information; transparency with an audit trail so you can keep track of what you have shared, with the option to update it, change it or delete it.

      Hope that helps, please let us know if we can answer any further questions.
      We really appreciate your feedback,
      Katryna

    2. Katryna

      Hi John,
      For the Terms backed by our T&Cs then it’s automatic. We have worked with our legal counsel to cover as many options as possible, focussing on the core terms of not passing on, these include:

      – Setting access until your manually delete
      – Setting an expiry in time (hours or minutes) – automatic
      – Setting a use-by date – automatic
      – Do not pass onto or share with other parties without my permission
      – Do not sell or trade

      In every instance you can set the data to time out if you wish. There is also an option to save your default terms or a note about your custom terms. For your personalised requested terms you have the option to advise the terms in advance and receive agreement prior to sharing. This will still allow you to set time and duration.
      Regards,
      Katryna

    1. Katryna

      Thanks Markus,
      I’ll let Derek know, he will be especially pleased to get that feedback from you :)
      This last release has been a huge effort and we are now starting to see all the core elements in place to support organising, storing and sharing data.
      Next release will be an upgrade to messaging, with mini dashboards for all you contacts so you can see the Tiles shared out & in. There will also be a privacy dashboard so you can keep a track of all the data you have shared and quickly edit your T&Cs. More to come!
      Kind regards,
      KD

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *